Coffee

I have been a coffee addict for as long as I can remember. Coffee has been a daily part of my morning routine for over a decade. I love coffee. It is more than just the caffeine. There is nothing quite as magical as a strongly brewed cup of black coffee first thing in the morning. And yet, every time I get sick I stop drinking coffee and switch to tea. I am currently in the midst of a week of tea drinking thanks to the flu. As I felt myself starting to long for coffee while sipping my tea this morning I took some time to ponder my coffee addiction…again.

I know I do not need caffeine to get myself up and going in the morning. It helps, but I do not need it. I have gone for months without any caffeine. I also know that I can easily get caffeine from tea. Green tea gets a lot of hype, and rightfully so. There are many great health benefits to drinking green tea. Guess what? There are also health benefits to drinking coffee. In studies it has been shown to decrease depression in women, decrease the risk of certain kinds of cancers, increase cognitive function, and increase athletic performance, among many other things. Yes, I am being very biased and not mentioning any of the negative effects of coffee, but it is almost always noted that cons come hand in hand with over consumption. So why is it that I can never make it more than a few months without coffee?

I could, in theory, go without my daily coffee. I have proven time and time again that I can wean myself off caffeine and I can go without my daily cup of coffee. And, I do not really like being as dependant as I am on coffee every morning. Still, there is nothing quite like coffee. I’m not as happy (coffee warding off depression?) when I stop drinking coffee for long periods of time. I get more irritable (decreased cognitive function?). I miss the simple pleasure of smelling freshly brewed coffee first thing in the morning. I miss sitting down with that hot cup of black coffee and slowly sipping it as I become more alert and aware of myself, my surroundings, and the day I am about to venture into. I miss the taste. The bottom line is, it makes me happy. I think tomorrow I will be switching out my morning tea for coffee again.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coffee

  1. Pingback: Cleaning Up My Diet | Little Rants From the Big City

Leave a Reply

