Endings

Sometimes we want something so badly with our heads that we fail to truly listen to our hearts and our gut instincts. The outside packaging leads us to believe what lies inside is exactly what we want and need. Unfortunately, when the exterior does not match the interior and our hearts and guts are screaming, “STOP!” it is usually time to do just that…no matter how hard that may be.
I have been forcing something in my life to work for a while now. Truth is, this thing was never a good fit. I was like one of Cinderella’s step-sisters cramming her foot into a shoe that was simply too small, limping around with a beautiful shoe that was crippling my ability to freely run, jump, and skip through life. My foot was not going to shrink and the shoe was not going to grow. There really was only one solution…take the damn shoe off.

“In the end, only three things matter: how much you loved, how gently you lived, and how gracefully you let go of the things not meant for you.” ~Buddha

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Endings

  1. Pingback: Dinner Parties | Little Rants From the Big City

Leave a Reply

