I’m Going There…Politics

While I am not usually one to write about politics on this blog, I am going to break the Irish Pub Rules and go there today. This has been a big week for those of us labeled as liberals. I personally am not a huge fan of the title liberal. I fail to see what is so liberal about believing everyone should have equal rights in a country that touts itself as democratic. I do not view supporting equality as liberal, I view it as being human. Women have a right to make medical choices pertaining to their bodies, in all arenas…men do after all. People who love each other and wish to commit to one another deserve to do so in whatever ways they wish. We need a government that spends more time addressing the fact that we are fighting a war, there are children in this country who go hungry every day, there are children not receiving adequate education in this country, we are the richest country in the world and yet we do not offer equal or adequate health care to all of our citizens, there are highly educated people in this country who cannot get jobs or support their families because of the economic crisis, this list could keep going and going. I do believe the phrase, pick your battles is most appropriate here. We can deny our citizens equal rights and try to squash the one thing we really do need more of, love, or we can stop and take a long hard look at the issues that are deeply impacting the future of this society.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

