Just Show Up

After teaching today I had a new student come up and introduce herself. She told me it was her second class after a ten-year break from practicing yoga. Then she said, “I don’t know if I’m really good or bad, but I enjoyed your class.” I told her there is no good or bad in yoga, there is only doing. I know, it’s still hard for me to wrap my brain around sometimes. We live in a results driven society. How can there not be a good or bad? Well, guess what, in yoga there is no good or bad, there is only practicing. There is, without a doubt, safe alignment so that you do not hurt yourself. Yoga, however, is not about twisting your body into super hard poses or balancing on one arm or your head for an hour. As a recovering perfectionist I continually have to remind myself that whether I can get myself into a pose and hold it as long as I want to, whether I can quiet my mind enough to be with my breath and my body, free of distractions, for more than a brief moment is not the point. Showing up daily, dragging myself onto my mat, moving my body and breathing, allowing myself to remain fully present, that is the point, that is the practice. So the next time you go to a yoga class and find yourself wondering, “Am I any good at this?” it really does not matter. The fact that you showed up is all that matters.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

