Listen

There is a lot going on in the world right now. There is also a lot of protesting on the part of citizens, from those in Texas to those in Egypt. As I listen to the news I find myself quick to take sides, eager to proclaim one side right and the other wrong. Sometimes I scream very adult words in a very childish way at my radio because of the magnitude of what is going on right now, in this country and abroad.

This past week I have found myself teaching yoga class after yoga class gone awry. While none of them were as bad as I built them up to be in my mind, they were nowhere near as smooth in flow as my classes usually are. Students would do what they thought I was going to instruct or what they wanted to do as opposed to following my actual instructions. Other students would start to follow what these straying students were doing then get very confused and tangled, physically and mentally. Students would get stuck in a pose unsure of what to do next because they had zoned out and then realized they had no idea what to do next.

When we find ourselves stuck or facing opposition it is often because we failed to listen. All of the protests are because there has been a lack of listening before moving into action. All of the confusion and straying in my yoga classes resulted from students not listening to my instruction, and my not listening to what they were telling me with their bodies and energies. Sometimes the best thing to do is to stop talking, stop doing, and start listening.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Listen

  1. Jerome Passman says:

    At the present, the planet Mercury is in retrograde to the Earth’s orbit. Mercury rules communication, so when in retrograde, communications are screwed up, and confusing.

Leave a Reply

