I Have A Case of the Mondays…Yes, I Know It’s Friday

Something very odd happened to my schedule this summer…Fridays became my Mondays. My two days off wound up being Wednesdays and Thursdays. Now don’t get me wrong, I am thankful to have two consecutive days off after working seven days a week for way more months than I care to admit, but it is weird to be starting my work week when everyone else is ending theirs’. I have a case of the Mondays while everyone else is yelling TGIF and making plans for their weekends. Thankfully, I love what I do and most Saturdays and Sundays I am done teaching by 2:00PM at the latest, still plenty of time to have fun, but I do have to work and I do have to get up early (remember, I am not a morning person). I know I am not the only one out there with a work schedule that does not fit within the standard, Monday-Friday 9-5. Even when I had a 9-5 job my schedule was always Tuesday-Saturday or Sunday-Thursday. And yet, my current schedule feels odd to me, even after two full months. There is something very different about your energy at the start of your work week in comparison to the end of your work week. Now imagine being surrounded by people ( I live in NYC, no escaping others) whose energy is slightly different from yours, almost palpably so, two days a week. It is a strange feeling. If you don’t work a typical Monday-Friday work week I would love to hear from you and how you feel about your schedule and ways you handle it.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in NYC Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

