Starting a Garden (NYC Style)

You may remember that a while back I started plant sitting for my friend’s beloved fern (https://littlerantsfromthebigcity.wordpress.com/2013/01/06/playing-hostess/). Well, the fern is still alive. My friend proclaims it is thriving, but I have my doubts (I’m still convinced I’m going to kill it). Last month I decided I was going to plant herbs and flowers on my fire escape. When I moved in there were a handful of pots on the fire escape with random weeds growing in them. The previous tenant had left several empty pots under the kitchen sink as well. If I could keep a fern alive for seven months, maybe, just maybe I was ready to start tending to plants of my own. I have always fantasized about growing my own herbs to cook with and I had been given seed bombs (http://www.anthropologie.com/anthro/product/home-garden/073025.jsp) as gift last December and a packet of wild flower seeds at the start of the summer…clearly it was time to plant them and see what happened.

What happened you may ask?

IMG_5209 IMG_5207

IMG_5211

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in NYC Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

