Finding Moments of Calm and Beauty

For me, the ocean brings me great calm. Being at the beach, watching and listening to the waves, and looking out at the horizon remind me of how small and inconsequential 99.9% of my worries are, and just how small I am on this great big earth…it is truly humbling. I am not, nor will I ever be, the center of the whole universe. What a beautiful relief and reminder. Swimming in the ocean brings me immense joy and peace. The farther I swim out the more everything just slips away. Yesterday I spent time swimming out into the ocean until all I could hear was the lapping of the water, distant waves crashing upon the shore, and an occasional gull. My eyes could see nothing but ocean and sky. I got to be with myself, no distractions, no thoughts, no worries, just a calm sense of being fully alive and fully present. We need that, all of us, moments of simply being, away from the stories we tell ourselves in our heads, away from the voices and gazes of others, away from the hustle and bustle of our daily lives, away from the distractions that prevent us from finding the deep sense of calm that truly does reside within each one of us. You may hate the beach. Swimming in the ocean may terrify you. It is your job to find the thing that brings you closer to yourself, and then give yourself permission to engage in that activity with some regularity. It’s essential to retaining your sanity, right along with being able to laugh at yourself.

Yesterday was especially beautiful. Thunderstorms were forecasted in Brooklyn (the percentage of forecasted thunderstorms on Fire Island was only 10-20% so we chanced it), which created beautiful clouds.

IMG_5258

IMG_5264

We toughed out the overcast morning and went for a walk in the sunken forest to escape a little bit of rain in the early afternoon.

IMG_5316 IMG_5315 IMG_5319

By mid-afternoon we to found ourselves on a sun drenched, empty beach. It truly was like having a private beach.

IMG_5330The skyline on the ferry ride back was awe-inspiring (pictures do not do it justice) as the storm started to roll back in.

IMG_5386 IMG_5418

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Mindfulness (or quieting an overactive mind) and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Finding Moments of Calm and Beauty

  1. toemailer says:

    We would love to post the top picture and an excerpt of your text at toemail if you do not mind? That was at Fire Island? http://toemail.wordpress.com

  2. toemailer says:

    Thanks! We will let you know when it is posted.

  3. toemailer says:

    It’s posted now/ Thanks so much, we really appreciate it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

