Cleaning Up My Diet

I have been contemplating cleaning up my diet for a while now. I already eat fairly well. I have been a vegetarian since age 14, the base of my diet truly is fresh vegetables, fruits, and whole grains, I don’t eat a lot of prepackaged or processed foods, I do my best to make most things from scratch, and I try to be conscientious about what and how much I put into my body every day. And yet, I could still do better. It has been suggested to me by several knowledgeable, reputable folks that I should cut out all animal products (I currently consume dairy and eggs).  I do indeed feel better when I cut out dairy. Up until recently I was convinced my body needed cheese because I craved it at times, but the less cheese I ate, the less cheese I craved…guess my body doesn’t really need it after all. I also really, and I mean really, like ice cream. Recently, another reputable, knowledgeable person  recommended I cut out not just dairy and eggs, but gluten, sugar, caffeine, and have 90% of my food consumption be raw. Some things you should know about my diet: I drink coffee, daily (https://littlerantsfromthebigcity.wordpress.com/2013/01/16/coffee/), I like wine (I went to sommelier school), I bake regularly, I like ice cream and chocolate…A LOT. I’ll give you a moment to compare and contrast the two lists.

When I started mentioning to friends that I was considering trying this diet out, maybe for a week or two, most were way more on board with my going for it than I thought they would be. I guess everyone wants me to be healthy and not happy. Or they think happiness will follow on the heels of greater health. Looks like I am alone in thinking this new diet is a bad idea. Last night at a dinner party I mentioned that I was seriously considering trying to cut out all animal products, gluten, and sugar from my diet, just for a week to see. This morning I received an email from a friend who was at the dinner party about a friend of his who is a certified health coach and nutritionist leading a 30 day detox that eliminates dairy, gluten, sugar, and soy. Just wait, it gets better, the 30 day detox begins next Monday, still plenty of time to sign up. I know it will be good for me, but I am getting cold feet. I am also getting really good and conjuring up excuses as to why I can’t do it. The main one, the last day of the detox will fall on my birthday. I should be able to eat whatever I want on my birthday, right? Plus, my birthday falls on a Tuesday this year so I was contemplating having a dinner party the weekend before. How can I host a dinner party when I can’t eat everything I damn well please? I can’t force my guests to eat my silly diet and I don’t think I’m strong enough to surround myself with foods that are off-limits. “Dinner party the day after your birthday or the weekend after?” you say. “Shush,” I say. I’ll keep you posted on what I finally decide.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Life Lessons, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

