Show Your Love

I learned a very important lesson from a 3-year-old today…never hide your love or appreciation for someone. I was feeling very tired and run down this afternoon. I had made plans to get my nails done and as much as I wanted to back out I stuck to the plan. I walked down the stairs of my building feeling grumpy and worn out. As I neared the foyer I could hear my 3-year-old buddy yelling my name. As I approached the windows of the front door and opened the front door I could see her start to jump up and down with excitement. Suddenly, all of my complaints just melted away. Here was someone I love expressing sheer joy and excitement over the fact that we were going to spend the afternoon together. It is impossible to be grumpy when you are filled with love. As adults we rarely show our excitement (or even let ourselves feel excitement) upon meeting up with people we love. We are far too reserved to jump up and down with joy or yell someone’s name so the whole world can hear. While it may not be appropriate to respond as my little friend did by jumping up and down and yelling someone’s name, it is appropriate to let someone know how much you love him or her and how wonderful it is to see that person. I felt so wonderful and so loved when greeted by my friend. Loving and being loved are no small matters. Let those you love know how much they mean to you upon every greeting and departure; it will make both of you feel more joyous and grateful for all that you have.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Little Ones and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

