Diet Change – Week 2

I have survived two weeks of no animal products, no gluten, and no sugar. In some ways this week was significantly easier than the first week and in some ways it felt dauntingly hard. The frenetic energy of something new also waned, leaving me with the reality that this is what I have chosen for myself for 30 days. Some things felt boringly routine. A good sign I have adjusted, but boring all the same.

I didn’t have any physical cravings for foods I am no longer eating, but I had emotional and habitual cravings. When all of my friends got ice cream while we were at the beach, I wanted to join in. At first I didn’t really care, I felt strong being able to resist what was by far one of my favorite indulgences, but as I sat with them enjoying their ice cream, I felt a longing to have some too. I felt left out. My body didn’t want ice cream, but my mind and my emotions did. I also found myself longing for a bagel this week. I do live in New York after all, we are famous for our bagels, and for good reason, they are delicious. I realized this craving was tied to habit. I almost always got a bagel after a long Saturday morning of teaching yoga. This Saturday, after teaching, I wanted a bagel. Instead I went home and made a green smoothie, surprisingly, I felt really satiated and no longer cared that I couldn’t have a bagel. I do however think an occasional bagel will creep back into my diet at the end of these 30 days.

I have been more adventurous in the kitchen. I made mini “cheese” cakes: http://www.sweetlyraw.com/2010/07/sweet-tooth-lemon-ginger-mini.html. (I only used a tablespoon of maple syrup.) I have a better grasp on what I can and cannot eat right now, which makes grocery shopping far less stressful. My kitchen is well stocked and I prepare batches of things like hummus, pesto, quinoa, brown rice, and chopped veggies so there is always something quick to grab for a snack or to make a meal of. I had a glass of wine while out to dinner with friends, which was nice. Overall, I have been craving fruits, vegetables, and nuts. My body knows what it needs to fuel itself and the more I listen the better I feel.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Life Lessons and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

