Peacefully Stand for What You Believe In

Tomorrow the winner of the Nobel Peace Prize for 2013 will be announced. If I were given a vote, I would give it to 16-year-old Malala Yousafzai, the Pakistani girl who was shot by the Taliban for being an outspoken advocate for educating girls in her home country. If your hope for peace has begun to wane, or you simply need a little inspiration, I highly recommend watching this video of Malala on The Daily Show with John Stewart. Seriously, she has more courage in her pinky finger than I will probably have coursing through my entire body in this lifetime.

http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/tue-october-8-2013/malala-yousafzai

Looking at all of this year’s nominees and the work they have done inspires me. It also leaves me filled with immense gratitude for how fortunate I am. All of the people nominated have stayed true to themselves and what they believed in no matter what the risks, and for some there were huge risks and consequences. There may be a whole lot of pain and suffering in this world, but that doesn’t mean we have to give up hope, silence our voices, or let our talents and skills idle while we could be of service to others. May we all find the courage and strength within to peacefully use our voices and actions to stand up for what we believe in and help others along the way.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

