You Are Already Beautiful

IMG_6556

This ad, plastered across two huge store front windows on a street across from a major transportation hub in Manhattan, reads:

Smooth Your Tummy

Lift Your Booty

Trim Your Thighs

Lengthen Your Legs

I know this is just one example of how fashion and beauty are marketed to women, but it still makes me want to spit fire every time I see it. And, it’s bad marketing because you can’t see the actual clothes through these stupid cutout Amazonian women.

A week ago a friend posted a photo of this window on Facebook with the caption: If I do all of these things will I finally be good enough? This marketing ploy wants women to feel like they are not good enough as is. (All marketing is designed to make you think a product will make your life better because without it you are not yet whole.) Clearly women are not acceptable with round bellies, sagging booties, thick thighs, or short legs. If you suffer from any of these horrific physical traits you must do everything in your power to remedy them immediately…and here are pants that will do just that for you so that you can be loved and accepted. Women…DON’T FALL FOR THIS, YOU ARE ALREADY BEAUTIFUL JUST AS YOU ARE!

You know what I need? I need to feel beautiful and nourished on the inside. I need to know that I am respected and admired because I treat myself and others with dignity and kindness. I need to remember that having a flatter stomach, cute booty, and thin thighs (I am not going to grow because my last growth spurt was twenty years ago, so fuck you and your lengthen-my-legs pants, Loft) has never made me happy for more than a few fleeting moments. However, helping someone else or giving to someone else leaves me happy for hours, if not all day. The things I need are not material goods that can be purchased in a store; they are not clothes or beauty products.

Anyone who is going to love me only for my stomach, butt, or thighs is not someone I want in my life for the long haul. Sure, it’s nice to be admired for outer beauty, it gives my ego a nice little pat on the back, but it is not what is really important at the end of the day. The women I admire most are beautiful on the inside, which radiates on the outside. I admire these women for their kindness, intelligence, creativity, tenacity, and humor, because these, to me, are more important than having a smooth tummy, lifted booty, trim thighs, and lengthened legs. Besides, I’m not a fan of pants so I’m waiting for the dress that will smooth all my bulges, lift, separate, and enlarge my breasts, and make me look like I am four inches taller than I actually am. While we’re at it the dress might as well come with a man who has deep pockets and will buy me the dress in every color it comes in this season.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Life Lessons, NYC Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

