Welcome 2014

This year I have decided to make one resolution. I have resolved to slow down. I want to multitask less, truly focusing and being present in each moment, stopping to smell the roses every chance I get.

This desire to slow down came to me last week as I sat playing a Dora the Explorer game for the fourth time in less than 24 hours with one of my favorite three year olds. The voice of annoyance began whispering, the game is cute and fun the first time you play, growing increasingly more and more mundane for those over the age of five with each roll of the die post first game excitement. Then I realized what a rare treat it was for the two of us to be sitting on the living room rug playing together on a Thursday afternoon. Once upon a time, we used to spend many weekday afternoons together, but with the start of preschool in September we have had far less time to play together. I also realized just how special it was to be able to sit there with this amazing little girl (she will tell you she is a big girl), watching all of her various reactions to what was happening in the game we were playing and having casual conversation about the holiday that had just passed. I remember thinking, “She will never be this age again. We may never have a whole afternoon together playing this game again. ENJOY!” So, despite the banality of the game and the desire to do something, anything, else than play the Dora the Explorer game for the fourth time, I rolled the die again and soaked in the moment.

I started working on my resolution two days ago when I began making cinnamon rolls from scratch. This morning the fruits of my labor came to full fruition. Sure, I could have purchased cinnamon rolls from  the grocery store or gone to one of the amazing bakeries nearby to purchase this treat hot out of someone else’s oven, but I decided to slow down and make them from scratch, taking the time to mix and knead the dough with my own hands and lovingly assembling this delicious baked good. You can find the recipe here: http://joythebaker.com/2012/10/chai-spiced-cinnamon-rolls-with-cupcakes-and-cashmere/ (I made them vegan by using ground flax seed for the egg – 1 Tablespoon ground flax seed mixed with 3 Tablespoons of water, let sit for 10 minutes – and Earth Balance in place of butter.)

IMG_7013 IMG_7015

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy New Year!

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Life Lessons, Little Ones and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

