Dance as if No One is Watching

Today in yoga class the teacher said, “You know the quote, ‘dance like no one is watching?’ Well, bow pose like no one is watching!” My first thought was, “Shut up and let me focus on the stupid pose.” My second thought was, “Heck yeah! I’m going to do this pose like no one is watching.” And you know why, because no one is watching in yoga class. Sure, the teacher is watching you, but that is purely to help you safely shape your body into poses and deepen your practice. Yoga class is also the one place where we can take risks without consequence. (Safe risks that is, not ones that are going to seriously injure your body.) I regularly remind my students that there is no failure in yoga, there is simply trying, trying, and trying again. So why not go for it? Why not practice like no one is watching? We become so self-conscious as adults. We care so much about what other people think. We hold ourselves back thinking that we, and everyone around us will be better for it when the exact opposite is true. We don’t grow and learn in our comfort zones. The times we choose to dance as if everyone is watching instead of listening to our hearts and dancing with abandon may feel safe, but they are never much fun. I invite you to try practicing yoga as if no one is watching or try dancing, actually dancing, as if no one is watching. Just see what happens. You might surprise yourself.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Dance, Life Lessons, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

