City Skyline

IMG_7420

I recently read Good-Bye to All That: Writers on Loving and Leaving New York. I will admit, every once in a while the thought of leaving New York crosses my mind. And yet, whenever I return to the city I feel a physical sigh of relief wash over me once the familiar buildings, bridges, and lights come back into view. It is a sigh of relief that I am home again. The constant barrage of stimuli, the over-crowding, the exorbitant cost of everything wear on me at times. I dream of open space, a whole house for the same rent of my little two-bedroom apartment, and the ability to escape the stench of garbage on the curb…and then I snap back into reality. I truly cannot envision where else I would want to go. Last night I had dinner with friends. The pictures are from the roof deck at sunset. It is views like these that I cannot imagine ever leaving. For some a mountain range, a forest, or the ocean are backdrops they cannot imagine living without. For me, it is the city scape that I cannot imagine saying good-bye to. Should there be another edition of Good-Bye to All That, my personal essay will probably not be amongst its contents.

IMG_7417IMG_7419IMG_7426

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in NYC Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

