I Have a Case of the Mondays

Today is not going well. I am trying to be positive. I am trying to find my reset button to get out of a mild state of constant panic and a full-blown state of getting nothing done. And yet, I just want to crawl into my bed, pull my coziest blankets over my head, and pretend today is not happening.

To make matters worse, I feel like an absolute jerk for lingering on everything that is not going well and being such a grumpy mess while doing so. I got an email from a friend last night letting me know one of her dear friends passed away earlier that day. Her words that we should live our lives to the fullest just as her friend had resonated with me, overshadowing the sadness. I stand in front of students every day speaking about self-acceptance, the power of choice and perspective, and how to create a sense of calm and ease regardless of what storms we are in the midst of tackling. And here I am, throwing my hands up and the towel in.

While I am grumpily wallowing in the imperfect mess of my day, I leave you (and myself) with these words:

IMG_4770

Or if you prefer (as I do right now):

20140310-172212.jpg

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

