Spring Cleaning

I am prepping myself for a major spring cleaning this year. I have managed to accumulate a lot of stuff since moving into my current apartment almost two years ago. Prior to moving I did a major clean/cleanse of my material stuff. A lot of what I was holding on to was emotional baggage in the form of physical objects that I not only didn’t need, but quickly realized I didn’t want. My goal was to move into my new space as unencumbered as possible. I feel I was relatively successful.

I’m not one of those people who can easily toss stuff out. I get attached. Objects that were given to me by people I care about get trapped in the four walls of my home because I couldn’t possibly let go of something they gave me. The thought they put into the object, the time, the gesture, the money…it would be disrespectful and rude to get rid of those objects. The objects that represent memories of people, places, or events become impossible for me to part with because they serve as a reminder, a tangible memory so to speak. And yet, the vast majority of these things I do not need. I do not use them, wear them, or have them displayed prominently in my home. So why am I holding on to them? They have become clutter.

This is going to be the year that I buck up and get rid of the stuff I do not want, need, regularly use or wear, or have space for. I got anxious just writing that sentence, but I know I can do it. I also know I will feel better with less stuff in my home. Less clutter and excess in my home will allow me to feel more grounded and focused. Every time I do a major clean out I feel lighter, I feel like I internally have more space, more freedom and focus. Taking an in-depth inventory of what I have and what I need will also prevent me from adding anymore excess because I will know exactly what I have already. I’m willing to bet I will surprise myself with some of my finds. I’m also willing to bet there will be more than a few internal struggles over getting rid of stuff. I will be giving things to friends and donating what friends don’t want or need to the Salvation Army around the corner so I know things will be put to good use in new homes, making the purging part of this spring cleaning easier…I hope. I’m also going to take my time, tackling one room at a time, one section of a room at a time if I need to. This is not going to be a one day or weekend event. I am giving myself up to two weeks to wade through every nook and cranny of my apartment. I’ll keep you updated on my progress.

 

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

