Magical “Ice Cream”

In my attempts to eat as healthily as possible and stay away from dairy, I find myself writing this while eating pretend ice cream that I am pretending to like. I am going to make the assumption (yes, I know, when you assume you make an ass out of you and me) that you all know about magic, one-ingredient ice cream. If not, have a gander… http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-make-creamy-ice-cream-with-just-one-ingredient-cooking-lessons-from-the-kitchn-93414

The first time I made “ice cream” out of a frozen banana I was pleasantly surprised. It kind of did taste like ice cream and it had the texture of soft-serve meets custard. The second time I added peanut butter. The love affair began. The third time I added peanut butter and cocoa powder. I went on like this for a while, playing with different ingredients and in different quantities, but truth be told, the love affair was ending. The more I tried to like it and make it amazing the more it tasted like yucky fake ice cream. I wanted ice cream!

And, because I’ve been eating my “ice cream” with long pauses to write it is now basically fancy baby food. In other words, it tastes like mashed banana with peanut butter and cocoa powder…not ice cream. I want ice cream! I also want to know, those of you who have made “ice cream,” what’s the secret ingredient to make this frozen concoction amazing? There must be some magical way to make frozen banana truly taste like ice cream, right? Why else would everyone be raving about it? Are all of us “ice cream” eaters totally delusional and simply refusing to admit that we are eating frozen banana?

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

