It’s Beginning to Look a lot like Christmas (Minus One Key Player)

20141217-224024.jpg
My friend and I trekked out to Dyker Heights to see the holiday lights. We were both in need of a good distraction and some quality time together. No matter how bad things are we can always crack one another up and are often found laughing so hard we are crying when together. These are the friends you hold on to, the ones who don’t minimize your problems, know when to let you cry, know when to make you laugh, and accept you for all your quirks and oddities. It should be noted we checked out L&B Spumoni Gardens. The “World Famous L&B Sicilian Pie” was some of the best pizza I have had. The half tray left us stuffed and with enough leftovers to last the rest of the week. We were in utter disbelief that what we received was only half a tray. While there one of my yoga students who lives a few blocks from myself, in a very different part of Brooklyn, was seated at the table next to us with her husband. They too were out for dinner and to see the lights. It is indeed a small world. My friend will kill me if I do not mention that Kim Russo, celebrity medium on the show, “The Haunting Of…” walked in and hosted a gathering for all the staff of her show while we were there. (I don’t own a TV so I had no idea who she was until my friend shoved her phone in front of me with Googled images of the celebrity.)
And now for the real point of this posting. I learned something new, and quite shocking, today…baby Jesus does not make an appearance in manger scenes until Christmas.

20141217-225715.jpg

20141217-225855.jpg

20141217-225923.jpg
I was shocked, and appalled as manger scene after manger scene came up short of the main character. I also became convinced everyone was clutching their hearts or praying with odd expressions because they were staring at an empty bed. My friend tried to explain the rationale and promised a repeat visit post Christmas so I could see that she is indeed correct, but I was still upset. Nonetheless, we had a good time.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

