Time to Step Into 2015

I finally feel like I am ready to start my new year. I started 2015 super sick. I sputtered and puttered for the first week and a half of the new year. I am slowly starting to ease back into my normal routine, and pausing to acknowledge the resolutions I set for myself this year. My resolutions are rather simple – no lofty goals that I cannot possibly reach, no setting myself up for failure. 2014 was not the kindest of years to me. 2015 is about taking care of myself and staying open and present. Here are my resolutions:

1. Eat salad at least 4 times a week.
People who know me have scoffed at this one a bit. I eat well and salads are a huge part of my diet already. However, I have my moments when I slip into not wanting to cook or prep food and before I know it, I’ve gone a whole week without a proper salad. This resolution is intended to be a gentle nudge during those times, because the bottom line is, I feel better when I am eating lots of raw veggies and fruits daily. Plus, I am hoping it will help me get more creative with salad dressing recipes.

2. Always have fresh flowers in the house.
Perhaps this seems decadent to you, but flowers in my home simply make me feel better, especially during winter. I am not getting extravagant with this one, this evening I bought a bouquet of tulips for $5, just bringing a little more beauty into my home.

3. Trust everyone is doing the best he or she can at all times.
This one is not so easy. In fact, more than one or two people have already made me seriously question this idea and resolution. And yet, I do believe it will allow me to be kinder and more open to others if I trust that others are doing the best they can at all times. Others’ best may not meet my expectations, or even come close, but I am going to work on staying open to the idea that they are doing their best while laying my judgmental side to rest.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

