Novinophobia

IMG_0543

I suffer from novinophobia, which is precisely why I picked up a bottle this afternoon. There is a wine shop halfway between one of the yoga studios where I teach and the subway. Besides being conveniently located, this wine shop has a great selection and a wall of wines at reduced rates. More often than not I find a tasty wine under $10. Once in a while there is no doubt as to why the wine’s price was reduced and I tuck the bottle away for cooking without feeling guilty over wasted money or wasted wine. I, like most eco-conscious people, bring my own bags when I go shopping. Okay, sometimes I forget and then I am left feeling shameful carrying a paper or plastic bag. The shame usually stems from the fact that I ALWAYS seem to run into a yoga student or über environmentally conscious friend or acquaintance on these rare occasions. Where are these people when I am toting around my recently purchased goods in a reusable bag? I digress, though.

While I love the wine shop I frequented this afternoon there is one thing that irks me to no end about the place. They, and by they I mean every single employee I have ever encountered there, will not put my purchased bottles of wine in a reusable bag I bring. They will gladly dump them in a plastic bag, but god forbid they touch one of my bags from home and extend the same courtesy of bagging my purchased goods in an environmentally friendly bag. I simply do not get it. The thing I get even less however is why I have never said anything to any of the employees. My reaction is always the same, I pause, waiting for them to reach for the bag I have left on the counter or am attempting to hand over, then, I bag my wine. What is preventing me from casually saying, “I find it interesting that no one who works here will bag my wine when I bring my own bag.” This is the only place I frequent that does not employee people who willingly take my bag and pack up my purchase for me. It bothers me, I know it shouldn’t, but it does.

Anyway…Cheers! Happy Friday!

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in NYC Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Novinophobia

  1. I know. Got that too. Let’s go for a wine!!

Leave a Reply

