Sunday Funday

Today was my first day off in 17 days. Yes, you read correctly, I worked 17 days in a row. Today was also one of those days when I had to get out of my own way, stay in the moment, and allow myself to simply enjoy what was. Daylight Savings started today. I don’t do so well at going to bed early or waking up early. In other words, Daylight Savings is my arch nemesis for a good two weeks while I attempt to adjust. Don’t get me wrong, I love the longer hours of light, but my internal clock hates the adjustment. Thankfully, I got to sleep in. I also broke out the big coffee mug to “celebrate”.

IMG_0596

 

This afternoon my adult friend, 5-year-old friend, and myself strolled through the neighborhood to see a kids show at the Brooklyn Academy of Arts (BAM). The dance company, Pilobolous, presented an inspiring performance offering up the perfect amount of audience interaction, education, and performance to entertain and inspire all ages. Post show included bagels, New York bagels truly are the best (even when you are blessed with easy access to them 24/7 the appreciation of perfection does not wane), and another stroll through the neighborhood in the almost-spring sunshine.

 

IMG_0591

 

We came to my home to frost and decorate a gingerbread cake, prepare vegetarian stuffed bell peppers, play with Legos, which are nothing like the Legos of my childhood, and enjoy a meal together. Despite some recent struggles, I was reminded that when we stay present in the moment there can be so much joy within the simplicity of daily activities. I almost feel ready to take on the week ahead.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in NYC Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

