Naps

 

IMG_8480

My cat, Maud, offering up her daily demonstration of how to nap on the couch.

I am not a napper. I quit cold turkey around the age of two and never looked back. I love to gather golden nuggets of napping advice from my friends and colleagues who are able to easily nap mid-day. It seems they hold the key to some magical land I want entry to on days when I have a break in my teaching schedule. Today, however…I took a nap. Okay, perhaps passed out on the couch would be more accurate. I felt like I had gained entry into some secret club. I successfully napped! Maybe it was the fact that I have only had one day off in the last 20 days. Maybe it was the fact that we lost an hour on Sunday and my early mornings have yet again been cast into darkness making getting out of bed feel impossible. Maybe it was the fact that, despite yet another far hike on the horizon, the MTA (Mass Transit Authority for those of you non-New Yorkers) cannot get their act together and made my late night commute home last night extra lengthy, getting me home well passed 11:00PM. Maybe it was the fact that I am attempting to get myself back into shape and added exercise on top of creakily painful joints still trying to thaw out after this brutally cold winter have left me miserably sore from head to toe. Maybe it was the burden of some emotional stuff I want to let go of but instead still find myself needing to wade through. Whatever the contributing factors may have been, I napped. I’m hoping this wasn’t just a one shot deal.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in NYC Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Naps

  1. eat2healthUK says:

    You can’t beat a good nap…or ignore the overwhelming cuteness of Maud! 🙂

Leave a Reply

