Satisfied

My birthday was yesterday. I’m not one for big celebrations or hoopla surrounding my birthday. This year there were meals, drinks, and conversations shared with friends, and a lot of quiet self-reflection. While I am thankful for all of the lessons learned last year, I am more than ready to start a new chapter. I enter this year of my life feeling more grounded than I have in a very long time. I am surrounded by people who love and support me, and whom I love and support. I have fulfilling work that allows me to pay my bills. And I feel ready to allow myself to grow in all areas of my life. It is going to be a year of challenging myself to step out of my comfort zone.

Every year for my birthday I get a postcard for a free product from Aveda with a scent of my choosing. Each scent is labeled with a corresponding element, earth, wind, fire, water, and feeling, centered, relaxed, calm, rejuvenated, etc. I found myself drawn to the scent labeled, “satisfied”. As the salesperson was mixing my product with the scent I had chosen I thought about what it would mean to allow myself to be satisfied this year.

Lately I’ve caught myself comparing my life to others’ lives more than I care to admit. So and so is only a year older than I am and already has X, Y, and Z. So and so is younger than I am and has A, B, and C. As I deal with some physical issues I find myself comparing my body to what it was five, ten, fifteen years ago. None of this is helpful. I want to be satisfied with what I have, my life and my body, as is. This does not mean settling into complacency – far from it. For me, being satisfied means honoring and accepting the path I am on. I want to work hard, push myself, and challenge my boundaries while creating space to be satisfied with what I have in each moment. Here’s to 34.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Satisfied

  1. I’m not far from your mom’s age and I have to say… every year gets better. Yup, the body is definitely creakier, and like you, I compare myself to others. But all in all, I am grateful and happy to be here… and always ready for the next adventure. 🙂

  2. Jeri says:

    well said, Djuna. Here’s to being satisfied and enjoying life. Sending you lots of love and warm hugs, Jeri

  3. David says:

    Cousin Djuna,

    Best wishes on your birthday! I recently turned 52, and I fully realize my body isn’t what it was when I was 22. Yet, it was one of the most enjoyable birthdays I’ve experienced in years. There’s a lot to be said to be in a job you find fulfilling, and that pays the bills. There are times I wish I had made different choices, though am satisfied where I am in life. We make that happen for ourselves. Its about acceptance.

Leave a Reply

