No New Year’s Resolution

img_3324
I didn’t make any resolutions this year. Instead, I made a promise to myself – this year I put myself first. This promise is two fold. First, a lot of my suffering last year came from putting others first, giving too much in situations where I was receiving too little (or nothing at all), and caring too much about people who did not care about my overall wellbeing. This year I will not compromise myself for others. Second, I teach yoga six days a week. While I wouldn’t trade my job for anything in the world and it fulfills me in so many ways, it can also be draining. I am taking care of others, showing up for others, and while teaching, putting my students’ needs ahead of my own. In order to show up and be fully present for my students, I must find balance by giving to myself. I can’t fill up other people’s tanks if I am running on empty. So, it is not out of selfishness that I promise to put myself first, but out of a desire to be in relationship with others from a healthy, grounded, and open place.

img_3358

 

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No New Year’s Resolution

  1. egbertstarr says:

    only when people are full first of all for themselves is there really even the possibility to give to others. care of self is primary; all else follows. when this doesn’t happen, everybody in the end suffers. just the way things go.

Leave a Reply

