Seasonal Changes

For the last six months I have found myself taking a walk through Central Park once or twice a week. It is not the section I came to call “mine” when I lived on the Upper East Side. It is not the section I came to know and love when I had close friends living on the Upper West Side. It is not even a section I would choose to wander through were I to take a random stroll through the park. It is a way to get from the east side to the west side after seeing one of my private clients. I stroll through the southern most section of the park, past the pond, and on to Columbus Circle to take the train home. On average I spend no more than 10-20 minutes walking through the park, it is a little respite in the middle of my day. I take the same route, sometimes making circuitous detours to take a picture, prolong my time away from the daily grind, get away from tourists or the traffic noises, or simply because I’ve aimlessly gone right instead of left. For the most part, I see the same sights each time.

I started these weekly walks when I sensed that big changes were on the horizon. I was in unhealthy relationships, unhappy, and yet, scared to death of letting go of what it was time to let go of. Little did I know, just a few months later my life would change drastically without my doing anything or being able to change any of what happened. I was forced to let go of what needed to be removed from my life.

I watched summer turn into fall, which turned into winter. I watched myself go from feeling stuck and unhappy to being free from what was keeping me stuck, but too shocked and wounded to do much, which has led me to a period of healing and growth. I’m looking forward to what spring has to offer this year.

 

 

 

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

