Will Little Rants Remain in the Big City?


On August 11, 2011 I wrote my very first post for this blog. At that point in time I couldn’t imagine ever wanting to leave the “Big City,” otherwise known as New York City. I was living in a studio apartment on the Upper East Side of Manhattan not far from the apartment where I spent the first three months of my life. The only thing that seemed certain at that point in time was that NYC was home.

Today, I live in a two bedroom apartment in Brooklyn, which often feels like a different country compared to the UES. I am happily settled into my career as a yoga instructor. I have a close circle of amazing friends and colleagues. The only thing that seems uncertain is whether or not NYC is still home. Over the next several weeks I will be ranting and raving about the city I was born in, the city I have called home for the last nine years of my adult life, the city I used to feel a deep soul sigh of relief returning to after even just a day trip away. I will always love NYC, but is it time for a long distance relationship?

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

