California Sabbatical

IMG_3059

Today marks the start of my 3 month sabbatical in California. The decision to leave my home in New York City was made rapidly, but the lead up was months in the making. No one has directly asked me, “Why?” Instead, there has been a lot of tiptoeing around the question everyone has wanted to ask but didn’t dare. Lots of probing, “What will you do?” And lots of people have projected their fantasies onto my three months away. My favorite being, “A three month vacation? How nice!”

First, the why. Well, because I can. I am able to work remotely. I am not in a relationship that would require taking into account how this might affect someone else and potential compromises. My only dependent is a cat, who came with me. This very well might be the last time in my life I can freely do something of this nature. So…I did. I do not for one second take for granted how truly fortunate I am to be able to do this.

The last year has been one of seismic shifts, both good and bad. I was left heartbroken, ungrounded, surrounded by vast amounts of love and support that I had either taken for granted or not seen clearly, and I finally rediscovered my voice. I discovered the blessing and curse of having too much work doing what I love. I wasn’t engaging in my own creative interests, which left me feeling bitter and angry. My schedule felt unmanageable, and yet, I had no idea what to do about it. Leaving things exactly as they were felt harder and more uncomfortable than taking a leap and stepping away from everything for a little while.

Second, what am I going to do? I am going to write (stay tuned for regular blog posts). I am going to take yoga classes with new teachers. I am going to Skype and FaceTime several of my private students in NYC. I am going to teach a few classes at studios here. I am going to record weekly audio classes to post on: Audible Yoga (teacher code: 14124) and On Our Mats I am going to prepare for and lead my first retreat in Costa Rica at the end of August. I am going to plan and set up future retreats, including long weekend getaways to vineyards for yoga, wine tasting, and cooking classes. I am going to go for long walks on the beach. I am going to spend time with family and friends in California. I am going to relax and simply be.

The next three months will be about slowing down and reconnecting with myself and my authentic voice. A part of me already misses NYC. A part of me is releasing a great big sigh to be out of the hustle and bustle of the city for a little while. I’m excited to see what is unveiled over the coming months.

 

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to California Sabbatical

  1. Jeri says:

    Good for you, Djuna! Enjoy every moment and if you get to SD I’d love to see you. Give my love to your mom and dad. 😘💜

  2. I’m excited for you!

  3. That sounds awesome ! Please post pics of the yoga retreat in costa rica’

  4. Pingback: Audible Yoga Classes | YoginiYenta

Leave a Reply

